Plantation Agriculture Museum to Host Yo-Yo Quilt Workshop

May 24, 2024

(SCOTT, Ark.) – Don’t let the name fool you; you don’t have to walk the dog or go around the world to make one of these quilts. Yo-yo quilts are a historic craft that became popular from the 1920s through the 1940s. During the Great Depression, crafters appreciated yo-yo quilts because they could be made from small scraps of fabric, which meant that they were very affordable to make. Since they were made of many small pieces, they were also easy to store and transport, which was particularly important for those living in cramped sharecropper and tenant farmer homes or for migrant farm laborers. Today, yo-yo quilts are especially appreciated as an easy introduction to quilting. Join museum staff at Plantation Agriculture Museum on July 13, 2024, from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. to learn how to make the fabric puffs that make up a yo-yo quilt, then practice on your own yo-yo maker. The workshop costs $10.00 per participant to attend. Space is limited; contact the museum at 501-961-1409 to register.

Plantation Agriculture Museum

Located in Scott, Arkansas, the Plantation Agriculture Museum State Park preserves Arkansas’ farming history. Exhibits and programs interpret the period from Arkansas’ statehood in 1836 through World War II when agricultural practices became mechanized.

Arkansas State Parks

Arkansas State Parks is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Arkansas state parks and museums cover 55,006 acres of forest, wetlands, fish and wildlife habitat, outdoor recreation facilities, and unique historic and cultural resources. Established in 1923, Arkansas State Parks preserve special places for future generations, provide quality recreation and education opportunities, enhance the state’s economy through tourism and provide leadership in resource conservation. Connect with ASP on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, and visit and to learn more.

Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism

The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism.